Club Organization

Chartered 31 May 1967 as the 900th club in Texas      LCI club ID 1578

  Part of Multiple District MD-2 (Texas), District 2-S3, Region 5, Zone A

Sponsored by the New Braunfels Lions Club, also now known as the New Braunfels Noon Lions Club


51 charter members in 1967

More than 80 in 1975

37 members in fiscal year 2021-22, our 55th year, including

1 charter member                   50+ yrs    1 member            40+ yrs   2 members

30+ yrs    2 members              20+ yrs   8 members

Over the years our membership has included a Council Chair, 2 District Governors, and many members who have been active at the district cabinet level.

Leo Club at Smithson Valley High School

Sponsor, Chartered August 8th 2016                                 LeoCharter_letter

Fund Raising


 Early years  July 4th in Landa Park

April 2, 1970, as part of the 125 anniversary of the founding of New Braunfels

Sale of Zip Code Directories

Door to door sale of Halloween candy

Sale of coloring books outside of grocery stores, Walmart, Target

Aluminum can drive

Food booths

 Fair Grounds during spring and summer Dutchman Downs horse races

  Glow Fest (hot air balloon festival)

  Weihnachts Markt

  New Braunfels Air Expo

Comal County Fair Food Booth 1969 – 2016

Wine on the River  ca 2010   for several years

  Saturday afternoon event at the Rockin R grounds

  Food samples by local restaurants

  Samples of wines

  Commemorative wine glasses

  Live music

Sale of tickets supported the Volunteers in Medicine clinic in New Braunfels

Wurstfest     Food Booth       since 1970

Fried Oreos established 1999

NB Car Club Swap Meet   Food Booth        2017, 2018, 2019

Service Projects


Little League Field including dugouts and concessions building on Common St.

Eikel Park development in 1972

First defibrillator for the McKenna Memorial Hospital

First Jaws of Life for the Fire Department

Bus for MHMR and maintained it

Equipment for Green Dolphins swim club

Decks at pavilions 5 and 16 and the band stand shell at Landa Park

Deck at St. Judes Childrens Ranch

Trash receptacles at the plaza

Benches and picnic tables for local schools

Picnic pavilion expansion at Eden Home

Butterfly garden at Eden Hill

Porch, deck, stairs, fencing for a physically challenged lady

Cabanas for the tennis courts at NBHS

Started the McGruff program

Cleared a large fallen tree and yard maintenance for an elderly resident

Assisted in the vision and hearing screening at local elementary schools

Sponsor, prizes for Kindermasken Parade

Gazebos at Crisis Center of Comal County, Eden Hill, New Life Childrens Center, Connections, Humane Society, Bulverde Community Garden Center, New Braunfels Heritage Society

Projects for New Braunfels Parks

Decks at pavilions 5 and 16

Back sound wall for the band stage

Pergola at the miniature golf course

Donation for Puppy Playland park

Texas Lions Camp

We have also supported the Texas Lions Camp with work day projects and provide scholarships for Camp Counselors (Awards Night).

Some of the hands-on projects include

2 computer desks

Storage cabinet and chuck boxes at various campsites


Paneling in the gym

Installation of a rollup exterior door for a storage unit

Exterior painting of camper bunk houses

Protective stain on the Lions fountain

We provided funds for the purchase of 110 camp cots.

This is our 42nd consecutive year for 100% financial contributions (dues) to Texas Lions Camp.

Grants and Donations including

Residents needing financial assistance for eye exams and eye glasses

Boys and Girls State

Boy Scouts

Fair Queen and Rodeo Queen

Jr. Miss

Junior Livestock show, Youth Homemaking and Art Fair

Crisis Center of Comal County

Family Life Center

SOS Food Bank

Habitat for Humanity – Point of sale system for ReStore

NB Little League

NB Heritage Society

Volunteers in Medicine New Braunfels

Debate club at SVHS – scholarships

Disaster relief

Charter Night         26 June 1967











Letter in 1970 time capsule


40th Year Celebration


50th Year Celebration


Presidents of the New Braunfels Evening Lions Club

Year                                       Name

1967-68                                Leroy Goodson

1968-69                                Jack Krueger

1969-70                                Jack Borchers

1970-71                                Ray Mendez

1971-72                                Bobby Reeh

1972-73                                Tommy Zipp

1973-74                                Dan Hutchison

1974-75                                Carl Feltner

1975-76                                Dennis Rhoads

1976-77                                Lindall Rose

1977-78                                Wesley O’Dell

1978-79                                Bob Hasert

1979-80                                Joe Alvarado

1980-81                                Bernie Boarnet

1981-82                                Edward Nolte

1982-83                                Larry Kunkel

1983-84                                Joe Holliman

1984-85                                Carl Englerth

1985-86                                Bill Mehrer

1986-87                               John Reynolds

1987-88                                Clifton Schrader

1988-89                                Tom Matschek Sr.

1991-92                                Richard Bingham

1992-93                                Rod Wells

1993-94                                Roy Crenwelge

1994-95                                Earl Wright

1995-96                                Jackie Condon

1996-97                                Dorothy Matschek

1997-98                                Robert Rayfield

1998-99                                Tom Gabler

1999-00                                Grey Baker

2000-01                                Madge Bayston

2001-02                                Jack Hicks

2002-03                                Don Baierl

2003-04                                Mike Wells

2004-05                                Clinton Brandt

2005-06                                John Timberlake

2006-07                                Jeff Kunkel

2007-08                                Betty Schilling

2008-09                                Georgia Wells

2009-10                                Suzie Garcia

2010-11                                Bob Miller

2011-12                                Harry Botkin

2012-13                                Lisa Lasseter

2013-14                                Jack Hicks

2014-15                                Larry Kunkel

2015-16                                Grey Baker

2016-17                                Edward Nolte Jr

2017-18                                Tom Matschek Jr

2018-19                                Ted Fero

2019-20                                Tim Simeck

2020-21                                Glenn Herman

2021-2021                           Glenn Herman

2022-2023                           Clint Herman

L to R: Wendy, Clint, Bob, Joe, Paul, Glenn, David